Home
Collections
Reprints
Fair Catalogues
Newsletter
User   Password   subscribe      
Terms of use
FAQ
Imprint
Contact
Links

www.olms.de

FRANKFURT AND LEIPZIG BOOK-FAIR CATALOGUES

Book-trade catalogues, generally referred to as book fair catalogues, offer a unique overview of German – and in many respects European – book production over a period of nearly 300 years (1594-1860). This form of information, originally intended for the contemporary book trade, today forms an important and comprehensive historical bibliography of the period.

Developed in the 16th century, the book fair catalogues for the Spring or Easter and Autumn or Michaelmas Fairs provided the widest possible overview of the books on offer during this period. Only when other sources of information began to take their place did they cease publication in 1860.

The digitisation is based on the microfilming of the book fair catalogues from 1594 onwards. To bring the various and astonishingly scattered holdings of different libraries together and create and almost complete run was a major editorial achievement. There were only a few years during the Thirty Years’ War when no catalogues are known to have appeared.

We are grateful that all the major German libraries were involved in this project. This enabled us to create a comprehensive primary source for the history of scholarship, of literature, of publishing and of the intellectual development of central Europe. During the course of such a long period the internal structure and subject division of the catalogues changed. Initially they were based on the traditional university faculties, then, after the publication was taken over by the publisher Philipp Erasmus Reich and the publishing house of Weidmann in 1759 aspects more strictly geared towards the book trade were added. A new alphabetical order made the catalogues more practically useful in the everyday work of the bookseller. The geographical coverage was also increased to cover the developing European literary scene. There was also a section for forthcoming books which offers an interesting insight into projects which would otherwise be untraceable.

This digital version of the microfiche edition represents a unique primary source for the intellectual and scholarly history of continental Europe.

Home
Kollektionen
Reprints
Messkataloge
Newsletter
Benutzer   Passwort   neu registrieren      
Nutzungsbedingung
FAQ
Impressum
Kontakt
Links

www.olms.de

KATALOGE DER FRANKFURTER UND LEIPZIGER BUCHMESSEN

Die Buchhandelskataloge, gemeinhin als Messkataloge bezeichnet, bieten einen einzigartigen Überblick über die deutsche und in vieler Beziehung auch über die europäische Buchproduktion für fast 300 Jahre (1594-1860). Dieses Informationsmedium, für den damaligen Buchhandel bestimmt, ist heute unter dem historischen Aspekt eine wichtige Gesamtbibliografie dieses Zeitraums.

Im 16. Jahrhundert entwickelt, boten die Messkataloge für die Frühjahrs- bzw. Ostermesse und die Herbst- bzw. Michaelismesse eine mögliche Gesamtschau des Buchangebotes in diesem Zeitraum. Erst als andere Informationsmedien diesen Platz übernahmen, wurden sie 1860 eingestellt.

Die Digitalisierung basiert auf der Mikroverfilmung der Messkataloge von 1594 ab. Es war eine editorische Meisterleistung, die verschiedenen außerordentlich unvollständigen Bestände in den einzelnen Bibliotheken zusammenzuführen, um eine fast nahezu komplette Abfolge zu erreichen. Nur einige wenige Jahre während des 30jährigen Krieges sind offensichtlich keine Messkataloge erschienen.

An diesem Projekt waren alle großen deutschen Bibliotheken dankenswerterweise beteiligt. So konnte eine lückenlose Primärquelle erstellt werden für die Geschichte der Wissenschaften, der Literatur, des Verlagswesens und der geistigen Entwicklung in Mitteleuropa. In ihrer inneren Struktur wechselten sie während der langen Erscheinungsperiode verschiedentlich die formale Gliederung. Zunächst bildeten sie das alte Universitätsprinzip der Fakultäten ab, dann, mit der Übernahme der Kataloge durch den Verleger Philipp Erasmus Reich und den Weidmann Verlag 1759, kamen strengere buchhändlerische Aspekte hinzu. Neue alphabetische Ordnungen erhöhten die praktische Benutzbarkeit der Kataloge im buchhändlerischen Alltag. Außerdem wurde der Erfassungsraum ausgedehnt auf die neu entstehende westeuropäische Literaturszene. Es gab auch eine Abteilung der zukünftig erscheinenden Bücher, die einen interessanten Einblick in Projekte gibt, die sonst auf anderem Wege nicht nachgewiesen werden können.

Diese Digitalversion der Mikroficheausgabe stellt eine einmalige Primärquelle dar zur geistigen und wissenschaftlichen Entwicklung des europäischen Kontinents.